Altan who are being honoured by Donegal County Council on Monday evening (l-r): Ciarán Curran, Martin Tourish, Dáithí Sproule, Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh and Mark Kelly. Photo Credit: Gearóid Ó Maonaigh

Donegal County Council will honour one of the county’s greatest musical ambassadors in a civic reception next week.

On Monday evening, Cathaoirleach Cllr Gerry McMonagle, council members and invited guests will gather in the County House, Lifford to honour Altan.

Founded by Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh and her late husband Frankie Kennedy, the group has been bringing Donegal and Irish traditional music and song to fans around the world for over three decades.

Earagail Arts Festival prides itself in having a long-standing relationship with Altan and Mairéad who has been a fantastic ambassador to the county over the years.

Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh’s family has been at the forefront of bringing Donegal fiddle music to the worldwide masses over the years.

In celebration of the large number of female fiddle players the county boasts, the Gaoth Dobhair woman fronts a very special concert in the Regional Cultural Centre, Letterkenny on July 15, 2pm  during this year’s 30th anniversary.

Mná na bhFidleacha – The Donegal Female Fiddlers

Mná na bhFidleacha brings together, for the first time, 13 of the finest female fiddlers either from Donegal, associated with Donegal or residing in Donegal.

It represents a mere tip of the iceberg of a huge quantity of quality female fiddlers around the county and just the start of a Donegal female fiddle showcasing revolution!

The line-up for this special lunchtime concert is Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh, Bríd Harper, Liz Doherty, Roisin McGrory (Harrigan), Clare Friel, Melanie Houton, Theresa Kavanagh, Aisling Drost-Byrne, Tara Connaghan, Denise Boyle, Claire Gallagher, Clódagh Warnock and Eimear McColgan.

For more information and tickets click here to be directed to the Mná na bhFidleacha – The Donegal Female Fiddlers event listing.

Earagail Arts Festival is funded by the Arts Council Ireland, Donegal County Council and Fáilte Ireland.